The Rub

Mary Fisher
2 min readJul 18, 2023

--

“I never want to say that I love art more than I love anything else, because it isn’t true. I love my children, and I would give up my art for them. But were I forced to make that trade, my sons would have a hollow, mute mother. When I found art, I found my voice. By allowing my soul to speak through my art, I am constantly learning who I am. Of all life’s discoveries, this is among the most precious: to know myself.

And when I dare to show you my art, you discover who I am, too.

As Shakespeare’s Hamlet said, “Ah, there’s the rub!” Seeing my art delights me with new discoveries; showing my art terrifies me with new risks. To make the art, I must be creative; to show you the art, I must be vulnerable.

Should you drop by my studio someday, you would be warmly welcomed. But here’s the unwritten rule: If you do not like what you see, be civil. My art is my soul’s offspring, my heart’s child. Showing it to you is like holding out my naked newborn for your inspection. You do not need to buy my art, any more than you need to adopt my child. But you may not tell me I have an ugly baby.”

From the book “Messenger: A Self Portrait”

Mary Fisher 2012

--

--

Mary Fisher

Speaker, artist and author. Activist calling for courage, compassion and integrity. Mom/Grandma. 1st Female White House Advanceman. Keynoted ’92 RNC.